Janet Munro (Janet Neilson Horsburgh)

Janet Munro

Janet Munro (28 September 1934 – 6 December 1972) was an English actress. Janet Munro starred in three Disney film releases, Darby O’Gill and the Little People (1959), Third Man on the Mountain (1959) and Swiss Family Robinson (1960), as well as The Horsemasters (1961), which aired on Disney’s weekly television series. Other film credits include science fiction films such as The Trollenberg Terror (1958) (released as The Crawling Eye in the US) and The Day the Earth Caught Fire (1961). Born Janet Neilson Horsburgh, the daughter of Scottish comedian Alex Munro (real name Alexander Neilson Horsburgh) and his wife, Phyllis Robertshaw, in Blackpool, Lancashire in 1934, Janet Munro used her father’s stage name professionally. Munro was married to Tony Wright from 1956 until 1959. She married the actor Ian Hendry in 1963, and they had two children, Sally and Corrie. Janet Munro and Hendry were divorced in 1971. Janet Munro died from a heart attack caused by chronic ischaemic heart disease at Whittington Hospital, North London in 1972, aged 38 years old. She was cremated and interred at the Golders Green Crematorium.

More Images

  • 14380862555_fff5170370_b -

  • tumblr_lzsw1gFBFm1r1thg2o1_500 -


  • September, 28, 1934
  • United Kingdom
  • Blackpool, Lancashire, England


  • December, 06, 1972
  • United Kingdom
  • London, England

Cause of Death

  • Ischaemic heart disease


  • Golders Green Crematorium
  • Golders Green, London, England
  • United Kingdom

2390 profile views